What are you thoughts on NUC or "mini pcs"?

I have been looking into my options for downgrading from a bulky tower for some time and I know they were nowhere near capable just 5 years ago for what I needed but they seem to be a lot better now. I was looking at some benchmarks and other tests and I am really impressed with what I can get for my money.

I have no experience with using one nor know anyone who does so I am curious if someone here knows about them and what their thoughts are? I don’t want to jump he gun and buy one only to later regret it.

1 Like

I love the 1L (USFF) mini PC from Dell, HP and Lenovo. I replaced my Microserver Gen 10 with a Lenovo 8th gen i5, and it’s more than enough for me and only idles at 8w. I have esxi running with multiple VMs.

Alot of people on Homelab are moving to 1L PC’s.

Join the wagon :relieved:

2 Likes

+1 @Ben
I also love the mini, micro and nano PCs from Lenovo and others. Currently, I’m using these two: ThinkCenter M73 and ThinkCentre M715q. Both has 16GB RAM and RAID 0. One is i7 and the other AMD. Got them off eBay 2 years ago for ~ $150 each.

1 Like

Good info. Been wanting to look at something like this, myself.

2 Likes

Welcome to our tech community! :handshake:

1 Like

Wish I could run raid. My Lenovo is the cheaper one with only 1 m.2 slot. The other m.2 is blank. :sob:

Here is a pretty cool 1L PC

1 Like

I have the Minisforum HX90.

It has a beast of a Ryzen 9 CPU which handles everything I throw at it no problem. No GPU but the onboard GPU does just fine!

Nice! How much was it? Can The igpu play* Skyrim?

I started to look into these more in late 2021. I have had my eye on the Minisforum X500 with the Ryzen 3 4350G. The reason being is that I wanted to set up an entertainment console with my TV. Based on what I read it is a good option.

1 Like

That’s pretty cool! Also Impressive little GPU. :eyes:

1 Like