How difficult would it be to migrate a small business away from Windows?

I have been working for the same IT management company for several years now and it seems with every update on Window’s end, things are made more tedious and time consuming. I think Windows is great but Linux offers more options for a small business to save money, time, and offers way better security in my opinion. I want to set up a meeting with my boss and convince him to start migrating away from Windows but I have never done it on this scale. I am not sure how hard it would be for the company.

It is a smaller business, we only have maybe 15 employees. So it wouldn’t be a huge transfer but I know a lot of things would have to change and many of them would have to learn Linux which could be a hindrance for my boss. Only 3 other employees use it at home.

How difficult would it be to migrate away from Windows in favor of using Linux, what distro would be ideal for a small business, and what key points should I focus on when trying to convince my boss this is a valuable transition?

1 Like

Germany tried and failed, they switched back to Windows, so it’s not worth it, in my opinion

Welcome to the community. @rexx :handshake: Don’t listen to @Ben he’s a Windows lover! jk :grin:

Instead of paying licenses to Microsoft, use that budget to buy support from Ubuntu (best value), Red Hat or SUSE for desktop, small business or enterprise support.

Anyone can use Ubuntu Pro for free on up to 5 machines, or 50 if you are an official Ubuntu Community member.

Also see: List of Linux adopters - Wikipedia

1 Like

I agree about Ubuntu being the best option for something like this.